Wales is ready for the Six Nations

Leave a comment

February 5, 2015 by THE WELSH HORIZON

As the first match is Wales versus England, we thought we’d go around and ask a couple of rugby fans what they are excited about – and what seems to be the chance of Wales winning this year.

Holly Thomas, 19.

Holly Thomas, 19, Somerset.

“For me Six Nations is like a family tradition. Don’t follow rugby throughout the year, but Six Nations is a family affair. We get together, get our jerseys out and watch it at home.”

Matthew from Cardiff.

Matthew, 23, from Cardiff.

 

“So basically I’m from England. And for the past four years, Six Nations has become a big deal for me. But Friday I’m going all out for England. But if it’s Wales versus any other team, I can support Wales. My Welsh friends are going to be so mad.”

Alex from Cardiff.

Alex works at the pub Owain Glyndwr.

“I’m half and half. Mum is from England and Dad is from Wales. It’s always a tease when the rugby is on! Match day is monstrous for the pub. We sell drinks in plastic cups and lager and ale are the favourites. We get all sorts, regulars, big groups. Everyone is welcome! I place my bets on England, again.”

Carl Bew, 21.

Carl Bew, 21, from Aberdare.

“I serve in the Millennium Stadium, going to watch in between serving the drinks! In fact this year, the team’s fairly strong. I’m quietly hoping for Wales to crush England, though realistically England might win again. Just in case, we’ll wear our jerseys underneath our clothes, in case the match doesn’t go well!”

Maria, 29, from Costa Rica.

Maria, 29, from Costa Rica.

“I’m quite excited about Rugby. It’s my first time in Cardiff so I’m going all out for Wales on Friday. I’m going to look for a pub, buy a Welsh flag, and dress up in green and red. Then I’m going to find a local and ask him to explain me the rules! Heard it’s similar to American football, is it?”

David Harge and his wife from Blackwood, Caerphilly.

David Harge and his wife from Blackwood, Caerphilly.

“Oooh Rugby. That is so exciting! We are so elated about Sam Warbuton leading the team. He’s a damn good fella. We get together at home in front of our big television. A couple of drinks and lots of shouting. You’d better learn our chorus!”

By Jayati Bhola

Leave a comment